Ricardo R. Gonzalez, M.D.

Ricardo R. Gonzalez, M.D.


Medical Center
6560 Fannin ST., Suite 2030
Houston, TX. 77030

Galleria Area
4223 Richmond Ave, Suite 200
Houston, TX. 77027

Request For Appointment

Dr. Gonzalez practices urology with a focus on voiding dysfunction and pelvic restorative medicine reconstructive surgery in The Texas Medical Center in Houston, TX. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Urology (ABU) and has earned board subspecialty certification in female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery (FPMRS) through the ABU and American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Dr. Gonzalez is a graduate of Stanford Medical School and completed his Urology residency and Voiding Dysfunction /Female Urology Fellowship at Cornell in New York City.

He is currently Medical Director for the Center for Voiding Dysfunction and the Clinical Research Center at Houston Metro Urology. He serves on the clinical faculty for Baylor College of Medicine and the Methodist Hospital.

As a specialist in FPMRS, he has a particular interest in vaginal reconstruction to restore function and anatomy. He is a specialist in using natural and biological tissue transfer to repair prolapse through a vaginal approach. He believes in a multimodal approach using the latest technology to treat incontinence, especially when prior treatments have failed.

In addition to his interest in FPMRS, Dr. Gonzalez is an internationally-recognized expert in GreenLight laser vaporization of the prostate for BPH, and he has been invited to teach the operation throughout the U.S. and in 12 foreign countries.

His goal is to provide state-of-the-art urologic care to improve patients’ quality of life.

Please click here to download CV file


  • Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
  • Occidental College, (Honors in Psychobiology) Los Angeles, CA
  • University of North Texas Denton, TX

Board Certifications

  • American Board of Urology, Diplomate - 2008
  • Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive surgery (FPMRS) - 2013
  • American Board of Urology and American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology


  • American Urological Association
  • Society for Urodynamics and Female Pelvic Medicine and Urogenital Reconstruction
  • International Urogynecological Association
  • Endourological Society
  • American Society of Reproductive Medicine
  • American Medical Association

Hospital Appointments

  • The Methodist Hospital
  • St Luke’s Episcopal Hospital
  • Women’s Hospital of Texas

Academic Appointments

  • The Methodist Hospital & St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital, Houston, Texas-Attending Urologist
  • Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas-Clinical Assistant Professor of Urology


  • State of Texas
  • State of New York

Areas of Particular Interest Include

  • General Urology
  • Voiding dysfunction
  • Female Urology
  • Neurourology
  • Urodynamics
  • Robotic and Laser Prostatectomy


  • American’s Top Urologists List - 2007-2013
  • Patient's Choice Award
  • Texas Super Doctors, Rising Star Award - 2012-2013
  • Doctor’s Choice Award, Top Physicians in Houston- 2009
  • Ferdinand Valentine Fellow for Research in Urology- 2005-2006
  • Kidney and Urology Foundation of America-Research Fellowship- 2005-2006
  • American Urological Association, Gerald P. Murphy Scholar 2005 & 2006
  • Cornell Alumni Council Distinguished House Staff Award, Urology - 2004
  • Jack Lapides Prize in Neurourology and Urodynamics, Honorable Mention- 2004
  • Ferdinand Valentine Essay Contest, New York Academy of Medicine Laboratory Research Honorable Mention - 2004
  • Basic Science Research Award, Research Insights into Interstitial Cystitis Symposium of the NIDDK - 2003
  • Andlinger Fellow, American-Austrian Foundation - 2003
  • Graduation Speaker, Stanford School of Medicine - 1999
  • Medical Scholar, Stanford School of Medicine 1994 - 1995
  • Magna Cum Laude, Occidental College - 1994
  • Phi Beta Kappa - 1994
  • M.B. Scott Scholar (Academic Merit), Occidental College 1992 - 1994
  • Dean’s List, U. of North Texas and Occidental College 1992 - 1994